2012 Tree Farmer of the Year Award

Delaware Forest Service forester Matt Hansen (at left) proudly presents the Tree Farmer of the Year Award to Christopher Walls and Ruth Hickman of Laurel at the recent annual meeting of the Delaware Forestry Association, which is celebrating its 30th Anniversary in 2012. The annual “Tree Farmer of the Year” award honors those who practice outstanding sustainable forest management on family-owned woodlands. Walls and Hickman have operated their tree farm since 1988 and are also proud of their historical roots in Sussex County: the family has owned property in the Laurel area since 1751.